Nothing is Instant

Hey all, today I’m going to talk about the book I have been reading for the past couple of weeks now and that is Looking for Alaska by John Green. (221 pages)

“So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

Source: Amazon

I actually really enjoyed this novel, even though it might be considered boring for some, it was actually very entertaining and some parts of the book made me feel like i was back in high school doing stupid stuff with my friends.

I honestly think that this book can be relatable to the majority or if not all of the typical adolescent life’s that we are encountering or have already encountered. To make things more understandable, there is two parts to the story a “before” and “after”.

The novel is about a Florida kid named Miles Halter as he tries to start a new life by moving to the boarding school his dad went to up in Alabama. Uppon arrival he meets his roommate Chip Martin A.K.A “The Colonel”. The Colonel gives Miles his new nickname, “Pudge”. Pudge meets the colonels friends which are: Takumi and Alaska. Through out the novel these 4 kids just basically run around smoking cigarettes, drinking booze, meeting new people, and basically just having fun with what they have. The boarding school they go to is for academically advanced students so during the novel you will find some philosophical conversations basically about life.

In this novel the author dives into a lot of moral dilemmas we as humans have to face at least once in our lifetimes. Some examples can be: Snitching, lying, life and death, falling in and out of love, and the stages of grief.

The character that you should look out for in this novel is Alaska. She is actually my favorite character in the book. Alaska is kinda nutty, but in a good way. She is very eccentric and unpredictable which makes her so lovable and also hate-able. Her way of thinking is what caught my attention because she seems to have her shit together although none of us really do haha.

I also think that Alaska is basically just the inner “wild child” that we all have inside of ourselves, just that she is good at displaying it to the world.

Word Count: 373

 

6 thoughts on “Nothing is Instant

  1. I’ve had Looking for Alaska on my shelves for years now probably, but now you make me want to pick it up. Upon hearing so many mixed reviews I just never wanted to pick it up, your review has brought a little light to what the book actually is, so thanks for that!

    Like

  2. I’ve never been one to read a lot of John Green novels (I’m more a fan of his brother… the one that makes YouTube videos) but after reading your review, that might change. I looked up the book and learned that this was actually Green’s first novel, so I’d be willing to read it, seeing as how it is pre-The Fault in Our Stars. Great Review!

    Like

  3. Wow! What a review! You have me sold on this book a 110%! It seems like an outstanding book!! You are pretty self explanatory when it comes to your reviews so never quit and keep working hard!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

